DL 2014

27th International Workshop on Description Logics

July 17–20, 2014

Vienna, Austria

Preface

The International Workshop on Description Logics is the main annual event of the description logic research community. It is devoted to discussing developments and applications of knowledge representation formalisms and systems based on description logics. The workshop explicitly welcomes submissions from researchers that are new to the area and provides quality feedback via peer reviewing, while at the same time being of an inclusive nature with a very high acceptance rate. There are only informal (electronic) proceedings and "publication" at the workshop is not supposed to preclude publication at conferences. More information, as well as the list of the previous editions of the workshop, can be found at http://dl.kr.org.

The 27th edition of the International Workshop on Description Logics was held in Vienna, Austria, on July 17–20, 2014, as part of the Vienna Summer of Logic. This year, a total of 80 papers were submitted, involving authors from 24 countries. Each submission was reviewed by at least three members of the program committee, or additional reviewers recruited by the PC members. A total of 34 papers were selected for oral presentation, and 36 papers were selected for poster presentation.

As in recent years, a Distinguished Student Paper Award was presented to the authors of a student paper, i.e., a paper that was authored independently by researchers who have not received a doctoral degree yet. This year's award went to Stefan Borgwardt for his paper "Fuzzy DLs over Finite Lattices with Nominals" which contributes to our understanding of the complexity of reasoning in fuzzy description logics.

In addition to the presentation of the accepted papers, posters, and demos, the program featured three invited talks, which were given by Michael Benedikt, Patrick Blackburn, and Alon Y. Halevy. The abstracts of their talks are included in this volume. The talk by Patrick Blackburn was given as part of a joint session with the 15th International Workshop on Non-Monotonic Reasoning (NMR).

Our thanks go to all the authors, invited speakers, PC members, and additional reviewers who made the technical program possible. We'd also like to acknowledge the foundation for Principles of Knowledge Representation and Reasoning (KR Inc.) for financial support and EasyChair for providing a convenient and efficient platform for preparing the program. Last but not least, a warm thank you to all of the participants of DL 2014. We hope that attending the workshop has been an enjoyable and stimulating experience.

July 2014

Meghyn Bienvenu Magdalena Ortiz Riccardo Rosati Mantas Simkus

Workshop Organization

General Chairs

Magdalena Ortiz Vienna University of Technology, Austria Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Program Chairs

Meghyn Bienvenu CNRS & Paris-Sud University, France Riccardo Rosati Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Program Committee

Alessandro Artale Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Franz Baader TU Dresden, Germany

Meghyn Bienvenu CNRS & Paris-Sud University, France

Alex Borgida Rutgers University, USA

Diego Calvanese Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Bernardo Cuenca Grau University of Oxford, UK

Enrico Franconi Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy Laura Giordano Università del Piemonte Orientale, Italy

Birte Glimm University of Ulm, Germany Pascal Hitzler Wright State University, USA Yevgeny Kazakov University of Ulm, Germany University of Oxford, UK Evgeny Kharlamov Stanislav Kikot Birkbeck College, UK Pavel Klinov University of Ulm, Germany Boris Konev University of Liverpool, UK Roman Kontchakov Birkbeck College, UK Markus Krötzsch TU Dresden, Germany

Domenico Lembo Sapienza University of Rome, Italy Maurizio Lenzerini Sapienza University of Rome, Italy Carsten Lutz University of Bremen, Germany

Thomas Meyer UKZN and CSIR Meraka, South Africa

Boris Motik University of Oxford, UK

Ralf Möller Hamburg University of Technology, Germany

Linh Anh Nguyen

Jeff Z. Pan

University of Warsaw, Poland
University of Aberdeen, UK

Bijan Parsia

University of Manchester, UK

Peter Patel-Schneider

Nuance Communications, USA

Rafael Peñaloza TU Dresden, Germany

Antonella Poggi Sapienza University of Rome, Italy Guilin Qi Southeast University, China

Mariano Rodriguez-Muro Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy Riccardo Rosati Sapienza University of Rome, Italy Marie-Christine Rousset University of Grenoble, France

Sebastian Rudolph TU Dresden, Germany

Vladislav Ryzhikov Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Uli Sattler University of Manchester, UK Renate A. Schmidt University of Manchester, UK Thomas Schneider University of Bremen, Germany Luciano Serafini Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy

Bariş Sertkaya SAP Research Center Dresden, Germany

Inanc Sevlan University of Bremen, Germany Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans Max-Planck Institute, Germany

Giorgos Stamou National Technical University of Athens, Greece Giorgos Stoilos National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Umberto Straccia ISTI-CNR, Italy

David Toman University of Waterloo, Canada Dmitry Tsarkov University of Manchester, UK

Anni-Yasmin Turhan TU Dresden, Germany Dirk Walther TU Dresden, Germany Kewen Wang Griffith University, Australia Zhe Wang Griffith University, Australia Grant Weddell University of Waterloo, Canada Frank Wolter University of Liverpool, UK

Michael Zakharyaschev Birkbeck College, UK

Additional Reviewers

Babak Baheri Ernesto Jimenez-Ruiz Denis Ponomaryov Yuan Ren Fernando Bobillo Yongbin Kang

Stefan Borgwardt Szymon Klarman Martin Rezk Ilianna Kollia Marvin Schiller Botoeva, Elena Loris Bozzato Patrick Koopmann Kunal Sengupta David Carral Seifeddine Kramdi Andreas Steigmiller Giovanni Casini Marcel Lippmann Daniele Theseider Dupré

Marco Cerami Michel Ludwig Michaël Thomazo Alexandros Chortaras Theofilos Mailis Veronika Thost Riccardo De Masellis Francisco Martin-Recuerda Trung-Kien Tran Andreas Ecke Tomas Masopust Despoina Trivela Valentina Gliozzi Kody Moodley Eleni Tsalapati Víctor Gutiérrez Basulto Christian Neuenstadt Benjamin Zarrieß Matthias Horbach Hai Nguyen Yuting Zhao

Ullrich Hustadt Özgür L. Özcep Dmitriy Zheleznyakov